Vanessa Beecroft



world premiere

Friday, September 29 at 9 pm in the courtyard of Palazzo Strozzi, the music of The Holy Presence of Joan d'Arc written in 1981 by the minimalist African-American composer Julius Eastman (1940-1990), will be welcomed by the living installation created by Vanessa Beecroft, through a group of over 30 models, between white and black, modulated by the geometry of the cloister.

Music by:
Julius Eastman
Prelude to Joan d'Arc
Julius Eastman The Holy Presence of Joan d'Arc

Njabulo Madlala baritono
with the participation of Mary Jane Leach

| Florence Art Music Ensemble
Francesco Dillon



Njabulo Madlala was born in Durban, South Africa and is a British resident. In 2002 he won a scholarship to study at the Guildhall School of Music & Drama for graduate and postgraduate studies. He went on to study for a further year at the Cardiff International Academy of Voice with Dennis O'Neill. Additionally, Njabulo has been a Britten Pears Young Artist, a Samling Artist and a young artist at the Ravinia International Festival in the USA.
Among his accolades Njabulo is the winner of the 2010 Kathleen Ferrier Award, 2012 Singers Section Final of the Royal Overseas League Competition, the 2012 Lorna Viol Memorial Prize, the Royal Overseas League Trophy for the most outstanding musician from overseas and Standard Bank Young Artist Award for 2014.
Concert highlights include Mozart Requiem (English Chamber Orchestra, London Mozart Players and Royal Philharmonic Orchestra); Mahler Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen (London Philharmonic Orchestra / Vladimir Jurowski); Beethoven Symphony No. 9 (Royal Philharmonic Orchestra); Belshazzar’s Feast at the Three Choirs Festival (Philharmonia Orchestra) and Royal Festival Hall (Royal Philharmonic Orchestra); Messiah (Philharmonia Orchestra); Elijah at the Snape Maltings; J. S. Bach Ich habe genug (Ten Tors Orchestra); Dido and Aeneas at (Wimbledon International Music Festival) and concerts with the KwaZulu Natal Philharmonic Orchestra under Arjan Tien and Richard Cock.


MARY JANE LEACH is a composer/performer whose work reveals a fascination with the physicality of sound, its acoustic properties and how they interact with space. In many of her works Leach creates an other-worldly sound environment using difference, combination, and interference tones; these are tones not actually sounded by the performers, but acoustic phenomena arising from Leach’s deft manipulation of intonation and timbral qualities. The result is striking music which has a powerful effect on listeners. Critics have commented on her ability to "offer a spiritual recharge without the banalities of the new mysticism" (Detroit Free Press), evoking "a visionary quest for inner peace" (Vice Versa Magazine), and "an irridescent lingering sense of suspended time." (Musicworks Magazine) Leach’s music has been performed throughout the world in a variety of settings, from the concert stage to experimental music forums, and in collaboration with dance and theatre artists. Recordings of her work are on the die Schactel, Lovely Music, New World, XI, Starkland, Innova, and Aerial compact disc labels. She has been instrumental in the revival of the music of Julius Eastman and is the co-editor with Renée Levine Packer of Gay Guerrilla: Julius Eastman and His Music.


 main sponsor